Opposition leader nominates two names for chairman NAB slot


ISLAMABAD: Opposition leader in the National Assembly Syed Khursheed Shah has nominated Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza and Justice (retd) Rana Bhagwandas for the post of chairman National Accountability Bureau (NAB).

A response letter containing the names will be forwarded to Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Tuesday.

On Thursday, the opposition leader had said that nominations for the post of chairman NAB would be forwarded to the government once the prime minister returns from China.

Nawaz had earlier recommended two names – Justice Rehmat Hussain Jaffery and former federal secretary Khwaja Zahiruddin Ahmed – as suitable replacements for Admiral (retd) Fasih Bukhari who was removed from his post on Supreme Court’s directives.

The Supreme Court had earlier expressed displeasure over the non-appointment of NAB chief despite court orders.

Admiral Bokhari was removed on May 29 and his appointment was declared illegal by the apex court.

Asad Haroon
A netpreneur, blogger and above all; A Human :) Asad tweets from @aghaasadharoon and can also be approached on Google+

Must read

Latest article