25-member federal cabinet takes oath


ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N)-led federal cabinet was sworn in at a ceremony at the Presidency in Islamabad on Friday.

President Asif Ali Zardari administered oath to the 25-member new cabinet comprising 17 federal and 8 state ministers.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif‚ Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq‚ parliamentarians‚ Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee‚ Services Chiefs‚ politicians‚ diplomats and high officials.

According to sources, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan will be the Interior Minister, Khawaja Asif Minister of Water and Power, Ishaq Dar Finance Minister, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi Minister for Petroleum, Oil and Gas, Ahsan Iqbal to head Planning and Development and Information Technology, Nawaz Sharif to keep Ministry of Defence.

One young state minister will lead Foreign Affairs, while Tariq Fatemi will work as advisor to the prime minister on foreign affairs.

Sartaj Aziz will also work as advisor to prime minister on economy. The notification for Fatemi and Aziz will be issued in the coming days.


Asad Haroon
A netpreneur, blogger and above all; A Human :) Asad tweets from @aghaasadharoon and can also be approached on Google+

Must read

Latest article