Polling underway for 2nd phase of KPK LG Election

PoliticsPolling underway for 2nd phase of KPK LG Election

PESHAWAR, Pakistan: The polling for the second phase of local government election in 18 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province is underway on Thursday.

The voting process began at 08:00 am and will continue till 05:00 pm without any break.


A total of 6,176 polling stations have been set up for local government election in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has declared 1,646 polling stations as the most sensitive while 2,326 as sensitive.

According to ECP, a total of 28, 020 candidates are contesting for different seats in Abbottabad, Mansehra, Battagram, Torghar, Kohistan Upper, Kohistan Lower, Kolai Palas Kohistan, Swat, Malakand, Shangla, Lower Dir, Upper Dir, Chitral Upper, Chitral Lower, Kurram, Orakzai, North Waziristan, and South Waziristan.

A total of 651 candidates are in the run for City Mayor and Tehsil Chairman seats, more than 12,000 for general seats of Village and Neighbourhood Councils while 2,668 candidates are in the race for women seats.

Meanwhile, an Emergency Control-Room has been established at the Chief Minister Secretariat in Peshawar for holding of the peaceful second phase of Local Bodies Election in 18 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The Control Room will provide all the necessary information to the Provincial Chief Minister Mahmood Khan regarding any emergency situation in these districts at the end of polling.

Must read

Recent News

Misinformation & polarization potential threat to derail CPEC: Ahsan Iqbal

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Minister for Planning, Development, and Special Initiatives Ahsan Iqbal has highlighted the threat of misinformation and polarization, noting their potential to...

Kyrgyzstan assures full protection to Pakistani students, action against perpetrators of violence

BISHKEK, Kyrgyzstan: Pakistan’s Ambassador to the Kyrgyz Republic Hassan Zaigham met the Kyrgyz Deputy Foreign Minister Almaz Imangaziev in connection with the incidents of...

NCHR ranks amongst top Commissions in the world as Pakistan welcomes A-Status Accreditation by...

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The National Commission for Human Rights (NCHR) of Pakistan has been accredited as an A-status National Human Rights Institution (NHRI) by UN-linked...

Pakistan protests with Kyrgyzstan over plight of Pakistani students in Bishkek

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Charge d'affaires of the Kyrgyz Embassy Melis Moldaliev was called to the Foreign Office in Islamabad on Saturday for a demarche...

Locals attack Pakistani Students in Bishkek; Ishaq Dar voices extreme concerns

The Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Senator Ishaq Dar has expressed extreme concerns over the reports of mob attacks on Pakistani students in...