National Assemly to elect leader of house today

ISLAMABAD: Mian Nawaz Sharif is all poised to assume the office of 27th Prime Minister of Pakistan today; also, Makhdoom Amin Fahim of Pakistan People’s Party and Makhdoom Javed Hashmi of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf are in the run for the post.


Meantime, Muttahida Quami Movement (MQM), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F) and Qaumi Watan Party will unconditionally favor PML-N for the top office. The 14th National Assembly will meet today at 11am to pick up its 27th Leader of the House.

The PML-N submitted seven nomination papers of Mian Nawaz Sharif. The N-League’s leader Ishaq Dar said he is thankful for even those parties which will not vote Sharif for the position.

The PTI’s candidate Hashmi said his party will play its role of real opposition, not the friendly one.

PPP filed five nomination papers for Makhdoom Amin Fahim. The papers of all three candidates have been declared up to mark.

The PM’s election will be carried out through separation of the House, not the secret ballot. President Asif Ali Zardari will administer oath to the new Prime Minister.

Asad Haroon
Asad Haroon
A netpreneur, blogger and above all; A Human :) Asad tweets from @aghaasadharoon and can also be approached on Google+

Must read

Latest article