Third phase of Punjab, Sindh LG polls on December 3

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The third phase of local government elections in Punjab and Sindh provinces will be held on December 3, according to the schedule issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday.

Third phase of Punjab, Sindh LG polls on December 3

The ECP said in its schedule that the third phase of local bodies elections will take place in 12 districts of Punjab and six districts of Karachi.

The Election Commission said that the nomination papers can be filed with the Returning Officers (ROs) from October 3 to 7 while the scrutiny of nomination papers would take place from October 8 to 13.

The last date for filing of appeals against acceptance or rejection of appeals would be October 30 and Tribunals would decide them by November 5. The last date for withdrawal of candidature would be November 6 and the revised list of candidates would be published the following day.

The Punjab districts where local government elections would be held in the third phase include Layyah, Rajanpur, Dera Ghazi Khan, Muzaffargarh, Jhang, Khushab, Rawalpindi, Sialkot, Narowal, Rahim Yar Khan, Bahawalpur and Multan.

Whereas six districts of Karachi where elections are scheduled in the third phase are Karachi East, Karachi West, Karachi Central, Karachi South, Malir and Korangi.

The ECP has already announced the schedules for first and second phases of local bodies election in these two provinces according to which, the first phase will be held on October 31 while the second will be on November 19.