South Punjab to include three divisions, have 120 seats in Legislative Assembly: Qureshi

MULTAN, Pakistan: The Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi has said that after the approval of the Constitution (Amendment) Bill for the creation of South Punjab Province, the seats of the proposed assembly will be 120 while the number of seats in the Punjab Assembly will seize to remain 251.

While addressing a News Conference in Multan on Wednesday, Shah Mahmood Qureshi said that under the Constitution Amendment, South Punjab will comprise of Multan, Bahawalpur and Dera Ghazi (DG) Khan Divisions.

Qureshi said that the seats of the South Punjab Assembly will be 120 keeping in view the population of these divisions.

The minister said that the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government has decided to initiate the political dialogue to build consensus for the creation of South Punjab Province.

Shah Mahmood Qureshi said that the PTI has already introduced a Constitution Amendment in the National Assembly for this purpose and we require two thirds majority to pass this amendment.

The foreign minister said that he already had a positive sitting with Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and consultations will be held with other parties including the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) to convince them to support the Constitution Amendment.