Pakistan’s 15-member test squad announced for Sri Lanka series

Pakistan’s 15-member test squad announced for Sri Lanka series

LAHORE, Pakistan: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday announced a 15-member test squad for three-match series against Sri Lanka to be played in June.

In Pakistan’s squad, Ahmed Shehzad, Shan Masood and Ehsan Adil have been included while off spinner Saeed Ajmal has been left out of the test squad.

The Pakistan test squad includes Muhammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Younis Khan Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Imran Khan and Ehsan Adil.

While selecting the squad, the selection committee considered the following key areas: Suitability to play in varied playing conditions; potential to perform at international level; current form and fitness and performance in the previous tours of Bangladesh and recently concluded Pakistan ‘A’ team’s tour of Sri Lanka; feedback from the team management on the performance of players on Bangladesh tour,” the PCB Chief Selector Haroon Rashid said.

Pakistan is scheduled to play three Tests, five one day internationals (ODIs) and two T20 internationals in Sri Lanka during the June-July tour.

The Pakistani team will begin its tour with a three-day practice match at the Colombo Cricket Club Ground.

The first official test between Pakistan and Sri Lanka will be played from June 17 to 21 at the Galle International Stadium. The second test will be played from June 25 to 29 at the P Sara Oval, Colombo while the third and final test will be played from July 3 to 7 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.