Eugene Fama, Lars Peter Hansen and Robert Shiller win 2013 Nobel Prize for Economics

SocialEugene Fama, Lars Peter Hansen and Robert Shiller win 2013 Nobel Prize...

STOCKHOLM: The 2013 Nobel Prize for Economics has been awarded to three Americans Eugene F. Fama, Lars Peter Hansen and Robert J. Shiller for empirical analysis of asset prices, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced on Monday.

The committee said the trio’s separate pieces of work had “laid the foundation for the current understanding of asset prices”. The prize is worth 8m Swedish krona (£775,000; $1.2m), which will be shared equally among the three winners.


It is the sixth time the Prize in Economic Sciences has been awarded jointly to three persons.



Must read

Recent News

Speakers demand informed policy endeavours to facilitate elderly population of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The HelpAge International has organized stakeholder dialogue on World Health Day to mull over suggestions to improve and guide policy endeavours to...

Interbank Dollar Rate Today in Pakistan – 24 April 2024

Interbank Exchange Rates in Pakistan The Interbank Closing Exchange Rate in Pakistan has been issued by the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) for April 24,...

Ambassador Suljuk Mustansar Tarar visits Netherlands’ DRU Industrial Park to explore avenues for cooperation

Pakistan’s Ambassador to the Netherlands Suljuk Mustansar Tarar on Wednesday visited the DRU Industrial Park in Ulft town and had a productive meeting with...

IPC delegation meets Law Minister

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: A delegation from the International Parliamentarians Congress (IPC) met with the Federal Minister for Law and Justice Azam Nazeer Tarar in Islamabad...

PM Shahbaz leaves for day-long visit to Karachi

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif on Wednesday left for Karachi to embark on his first visit to the metropolis after assuming the Office...