Newly appointed ECP members take oath

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Justice (retd) Sardar Muhammad Raza Khan on Wednesday administered oath to the four newly appointed members of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

Justice (retd) Shakeel Ahmed Baloch from Balochistan, former federal secretary Ghaffar Soomro from Sindh, Justice (retd) Irshad Qaiser from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Justice (retd) Altaf Ibrahim Qureshi from Punjab took oath of their offices in a ceremony held at the ECP’s Secretariat in the Federal Capital on Wednesday morning.

The appointment of the four new ECP members was made after a Parliamentary Committee on July 25 reached a consensus on their names.

Later Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif had sent the advice to President Mamnoon Hussain for giving his approval to the appointment of four new members of the ECP. The president accorded approval while exercising of his powers under article 218 (2) (b) of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.