Mushtaq Ahmad Ghani elected Speaker KPK Assembly

PESHAWAR, Pakistan: Mushtaq Ahmad Ghani of ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has been elected as the 18th Speaker of the 130-member Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly by securing 81 votes.


The announcement of his election as the Speaker Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly was made by the Presiding Officer Sardar Aurangzeb Nalotha.

Later Sardar Aurangzeb Nalotha also administered the Oath to Mushtaq Ahmed Ghani, elected as the member of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa from PK-44 Abbottabad in elections 2018.

Awami National Party’s (ANP) Laiq Muhammad Khan, who was the Candidate of the Joint Opposition including ANP, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Fazl (JUI-F) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), received 27 votes.

A total of 109 lawmakers in the House casted their votes through secret ballot in the election held for the Speakership.

Likewise, PTI’s Mehmood Jan was elected as the Deputy Speaker Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly by bagging 78 votes against the Opposition’s Candidate Jamshed Mohmand who took 30 votes.

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Latest article