Raja Pervaiz Ashraf takes oath as Speaker National Assembly

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Raja Pervaiz Ashraf of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) has been elected unopposed as the 22nd Speaker of the 15th National Assembly of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.


Raja Pervaiz Ashraf was elected unopposed as the Speaker National Assembly after no other candidate filed nomination papers for the seat.

Later, the Presiding Officer Sardar Ayaz Sadiq administered the oath to him.

In his opening remarks after taking oath, Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf thanked all the parliamentary leaders and members of the lower house for expressing confidence in him. He said he will act in an impartial manner. He said the voice of opposition will not be suppressed but respected.

Taking the floor, Prime Minister Shahbaz felicitated Raja Pervaiz Ashraf on assuming the office of speaker. He was confident that Raja Pervez Ashraf would take the whole house along and discharge his responsibilities to the best of his abilities as per the law and constitution.

Earlier, the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Qasim Khan Suri tendered his resignation.

Qasim Suri was facing a no confidence motion.

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Latest article