PTI wins DI Khan by-election


PTI wins DI Khan by-election

PESHAWAR, Pakistan: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Ehtesham Javed Akbar won the by-election for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa constituency PK-68 Dera Ismael Khan by securing 37,178 votes, according to unofficial results from all the 108 polling stations.

His rival Syed Murid Kazim Shah who contested the election as an independent candidate but had the support of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F) and Awami National Party (ANP) bagged 32,640 votes.

The by-election in the constituency was held on Monday in which 13 candidates took part.

The seat in the constituency had fallen vacant after independent member of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly Javed Akbar was disqualified by an election tribunal in a bogus degree case.

Asad Haroon
A netpreneur, blogger and above all; A Human :) Asad tweets from @aghaasadharoon and can also be approached on Google+

Must read

Latest article