PML-N awards tickets to 20 candidates for Senate polls

PML-N awards tickets to 20 candidates for Senate polls


ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has awarded tickets to its 20 candidates for contesting upcoming Senate elections.

In this regard, the approval was given by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif after a consultation with the party’s parliamentary board.

The sources said that Professor Sajid Mir and Raja Zafarul Haq were given tickets on technocrat seats from Punjab while on general seats from the province, tickets were given to Pervaiz Rasheed, Mushahidullah Khan, Chaudhry Tanveer, Dr Asif Kirmani, Nihal Hashmi, Abdul Qayyum and Dr Ghaus Niazi.

Dr Najma Hameed and Kiran Dar will contest the Senate elections on women seats from Punjab as the PML-N’s candidates.

Likewise, General (retd) Salahuddin Tirmizi will contest elections on PML-N ticket from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

From Sindh, Syed Zafar Ali Shah is the candidate of PML-N on general seat for Senate polls.

From Balochistan, Sardar Yaqub Khan Nasir, Mir Nimatullah Zehri and Amir Afzal Khan Mandokhel were given tickets on general seats while Danesh Kumar is the candidate of PML-N on minority seat.

Kulsum Parveen is candidate on reserved women seat from the southwestern province.

Moreover, Iqbal Zafar Jhagra will contest elections on general seat from the Federal capital while Raheela Magsi will fight for women seat reserved from Islamabad as the PML-N candidates.

The Senate elections will be held on March 3, during which 52 new lawmakers will be elected for the 104-member upper house of the bicameral Parliament.

Asad Haroon
Asad Haroon
A netpreneur, blogger and above all; A Human :) Asad tweets from @aghaasadharoon and can also be approached on Google+

Must read

Latest article