HEC working on establishment of 14 more degree awarding universities, NA told


ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Minister for Federal Education and Professional Training Muhammad Baligh Ur Rehman on Wednesday informed the National Assembly that the Higher Education Commission (HEC) was working on establishing 14 more degree awarding universities/institutions across the Country.

In a written reply to the Lower House of the Parliament, the minister said that the HEC under Public Sector Development Programme (PSDP) work on establishing these institutions was underway.

The minister informed the House that these institutions include University of Baltistan, University Gwadar, University of Sibi, The University of Agriculture, Dera Ismaeel Khan, the University of Lakhi Marwat, University of Chitral, and Federal Institute at Hyderabad.

In addition, work on Institute of Science and Technology at Bahawalpur, Baba Gurunanak International University at Nakana Sahib, Gandhara University at Taxila, University of Narowal, University of Central Asia and Pakistan, Islamabad, National Skill University, Islamabad and Federal Women University, Islamabad was also in progress.

Meanwhile, to another question, the minister informed the Lower House about the degree verification process by the HEC.

Baligh Ur Rehman informed the House that currently degrees were being verified by the HEC through Head Office and Regional Offices at Karachi, Lahore, Peshawar and Quetta.

The minister said that the verification fee of the degree was being submitted and deposited in all the branches of Habib Bank Limited across the Country.

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Latest article

Enable Notifications for more content    OK No thanks