Yousaf Raza Gillani elected Senator, PTI’s Abdul Hafeez Shaikh loses

PoliticsYousaf Raza Gillani elected Senator, PTI’s Abdul Hafeez Shaikh loses

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Opposition’s Joint Candidate Yousaf Raza Gillani was elected as the Senator in the Senate Elections 2021 held at the Parliament House in Islamabad on Wednesday.

The Pakistan People’s Party’s (PPP) Yousaf Raza Gillani won the general seat from Islamabad by a margin of 5 votes, beating the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Candidate Dr. Abdul Hafeez Shaikh.


Yousaf Raza Gillani secured 169 votes, Abdul Hafeez Sheikh bagged 164 votes while seven votes cast to elect Senators from the Federal Capital were rejected.

On women’s seat, PTI’s Fauzia Arshad won the election. She received 174 while Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) Candidate Farzana Kausar got 161 votes.

Sources said that 340 out of 341 lawmakers from the National Assembly cast their votes whereas Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) MNA Maulana Abdul Akbar Chitrali didn’t participate in the voting process.

In a statement, the Prime Minister’s Special Assistant on Political Communication Dr. Shahbaz Gill said that Yousaf Raza Gilani won by a slim margin of five votes while seven votes were rejected.

“Now we will challenge this result,” Shahbaz Gill said.

The Senate Elections 2021 were held on Wednesday simultaneously at the Parliament House in Islamabad and three provincial assemblies to elect 37 Members of the Upper House.

All the 11 Candidates for Senate from Punjab had already been elected unopposed.

While 2 Senators were elected today from the Federal Capital, 11 from Sindh, and 12 each from Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

From Balochistan, the Independent Candidate Abdul Qadir, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl’s (JUI-F) Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, Balochistan National Party-Mengal’s (BNP-M) Muhammad Qasim Roonjho, Balochistan Awami Party’s (BAP) Manzoor Kakar,  Mir Sarfraz Bugti, Prince Ahmed Umarzai & Prince Ahmed Umarzai, and Awami National Party’s (ANP) Arbab Umar Farooq won the Senate Elections.

From Sindh, PPP’s Palwasha Khan, Muttahida Qaumi Movement’s (MQM) Faisal Sabzwari and Khalida Ateeb, PTI’s Faisal Vawda, and Saifullah Abro, PPP’s Saleem Mandviwalla, Shireen Rehman, Jam Mehtab Dahar and Taj Haider were elected.

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Recent News

Petrol Price in Pakistan Today – 1 March 2024

New Prices of Petroleum Products in Pakistan for March 1-15, 2024Petrol: Rs 279.75 per litre (increase by Rs 4.13) High-Speed Diesel: Rs 287.33...

Forging Change: Breaking Barriers Through Diversity and Inclusivity Conference Makes Strides for Gender-Inclusive Solutions

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Pakistani and international participants on Thursday concluded a four-day conference dedicated to driving gender-inclusive solutions to the world's most pressing challenges including...

Interbank Dollar Rate Today in Pakistan – 29 February 2024

Interbank Exchange Rates in Pakistan The Interbank Closing Exchange Rate in Pakistan has been issued by the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) for February 29,...
Infinix Note 8i Price in Pakistan

Infinix Note 8i Price in Pakistan – 2024

Infinix Note 8i is a smartphone of the Infinix Note series with great features and performance. Infinix smartphone enthusiasts are eager to know Pakistan's...

AUD to INR: Australian Dollar to Indian Rupee Today – 29 February 2024

The Australian Dollar (AUD) was trading at 54.03 as per the Indian Rupee (INR) on Thursday.Currently, Indians are now the second-largest migrant group in...