West Indies’ Denesh Ramdin charged for claiming Misbah catch

LONDON: West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has been charged with a Level 2 breach of the ICC Code of Conduct during his side’s Group B encounter against Pakistan at The Oval on day two of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 on Friday.

According to a press release from the ICC on Saturday, Ramdin is charged with breaching Article 2.2.11of the  ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel which relates to “conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game.”

The charge has been laid by the on-field umpires Steve Davis and Nigel Llong, third umpire Tony Hill and fourth umpire Richard Kettleborough.

Ramdin has pleaded not guilty to the offence, and a hearing will take place in London on Monday.

The charge related to an incident in Pakistan’s innings when Ramdin claimed a catch off Misbah-ul-Haq.

The range of penalties for all first Level 2 breaches are the imposition of a fine of between 50-100% of a player’s match fee and/or a suspension of up to two ODI matches.