Sadiq Sanjrani elected as Chairman Senate

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Opposition-backed Senator Sadiq Sanjrani was elected as the eighth Chairman of the Senate in Islamabad on Monday for next three years, becoming the first ever Senator from Balochistan to chair the Upper House of the Parliament.


Senator Sadiq Sanjrani – an Independent Candidate from Balochistan – received 57 votes while the ruling alliance candidate Raja Zafar-ul-Haq bagged 46 votes, the Presiding Officer Sardar Yaqoob Nasir announced.

Earlier as many as 103 Senators casted their votes to elect the Chairman of the Upper House of the Parliament through a secret ballot.

Sadiq Sanjrani elected as Chairman Senate
Sadiq Sanjrani

Sadiq Sanjrani had the backing of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), FATA Senators and Independent Candidates from Balochistan.

While his sole opponent Raja Zafar-ul-Haq was supported by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F), Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), National Party (NP), Awami National Party (ANP) and Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP).

Following the announcement of the election result, Sadiq Sanjrani took oath as the Chairman Senate. The Presiding Officer Sardar Yaqoob Nasir administered oath to him.

Later on, opposition candidate Saleem Mandviwala also won the election by receiving 54 votes while his opponent Usman Khan Kahar supported by the ruling coalition got 44 votes.

In the House of 104, 53 votes were required to win the contest. However, there were 103 members in the Upper House who would cast their vote as one of the elected Senator Ishaq Dar could not take oath due to his stay in London.

In this particular situation, 52 votes were required to win the contest if no vote of members was rejected.

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Latest article