Ukraine Crises: UN resolution 68/39 speaks much about divides

Ukraine Crises: UN resolution 68/39 speaks much about divides

Ukraine Crises: UN resolution 68/39 speaks much about divides
Ukraine Crises: UN resolution 68/39 speaks much about divides

By Agha Iqrar Haroon

United Nations General Assembly resolution 68/39 that was a non-binding resolution symbolic adopted on 27 March 2014 with 100 nations voting in favor, indicates that Russia has strong influence over all Central Asian states as no CAS except Azerbaijan voted in favour of this US sponsored resolution that affirms the territorial integrity and political independence of Ukraine and declares invalid Crimea’s referendum on acceding to the Russian Federation.  While two US known friends—Pakistan and Afghanistan abstained from voting while superpower China and emerging superpower India kept themselves away from this US-EU move. Interestingly Israel and United Arab Emirates (UAE) were absent from voting.



11 countries opposed the resolution including Russia and 58 abstaining while 24 members didn’t cast the vote.

States that approve the resolution include:

Albania, Andorra, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Benin, Bhutan, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Spain, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America

READ  Unknown assailants kill four polio workers including women in Quetta

Countries that opposed the resolution include:

Armenia, Belarus, Bolivia, Cuba, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela and Zimbabwe.

Countries those abstained from voting include:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bangladesh, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, China, Comoros, Djibouti, Dominica, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Guyana, India, Iraq, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Lesotho, Mali, Mauritania, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nauru, Pakistan, Paraguay, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, and Zambia.

Countries those were absent during voting include:

Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Republic of the Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Iran, Israel, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Morocco, Oman, Serbia, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, Vanuatu, and Yemen.

By Agha Iqrar Haroon

Writer can be contacted at

Twitter @aghaiqrar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.