Syed Qaim Ali Shah elected as CM Sindh


KARACHI: Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) senior leader Syed Qaim Ali Shah on Thursday was elected as Chief Minister of Sindh for the third time.

Shah secured 86 votes in the secret ballot, while Muttahida Qaumi Movement’s (MQM) Syed Sardar Ahmad and Pakistan Muslim League-Functional leader (PML-F) Imtiaz Sheikh, also contesting the seat, received 48 and 18 votes respectively.

PPP’s Agha Siraj Durrani, who took oath as Sindh Assembly Speaker earlier in the day, congratulated the veteran politician for completing hat-trick of becoming Sindh chief minister after announcing the ballot results.

The newly elected chief minister would take oath of his office tonight.

Earlier, during the ongoing session of the provincial assembly, PPP’s Agha Siraj Durrani was sworn in as speaker of 16th Sindh Assembly whereas Shehla Raza of PPP took oath as the deputy speaker.


Asad Haroon
A netpreneur, blogger and above all; A Human 🙂 Asad tweets from @aghaasadharoon and can also be approached on Google+

Must read

Latest article

Enable Notifications for more content    OK No thanks