Shahid Khaqan Abbasi won’t contest by-election from NA-53 Islamabad

Elections 2018Shahid Khaqan Abbasi won’t contest by-election from NA-53 Islamabad

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The former Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi has decided not to contest the by-election from NA-53 Islamabad-II Constituency.

The by-election in NA-53 Islamabad will certainly take place any time soon after the Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Imran Khan decided to retain his NA-95 Mianwali-I seat, wherein he took 1,65,518 votes in the election held on July 25.

Khaqan Abbasi contested the general elections 2018 on Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) ticket from NA-53 Islamabad-II and NA-57 Rawalpindi-I. However, he lost both the elections against Imran Khan and PTI’s Sadaqat Ali Khan respectively.

Abbasi took 44,314 votes in NA-53 against Imran Khan’s 93,110 votes, and 1,24,703 votes in NA-57 against Sadaqat’s 1,36,613 votes.

The former prime minister requested the Returning Officer (RO) for a recount in NA-57; however, his request was turned down.

On the other hand, apart from NA-53, by-elections will also be held in NA-131 Lahore-XI, NA-35 Bannu and NA-243 Karachi East-II as Imran Khan also secured victory in these Constituencies but now will have to abandon these.

Likewise, by-elections for National Assembly Seats will also take place in NA-65 Chakwal-II and NA-69 Gujrat-II (wherein Chaudhry Pervez Elahi won but later decided to retain his PP-30 Gujrat-III Seat), NA-59 Rawalpindi-III or NA-63 Rawalpindi-VII (wherein PTI’s Ghulam Sarwar won but now will have to retain one of these two), NA-55 Attock-I or NA-56 Attock-II (wherein PTI’s Tahir Sadiq won but now will have to retain one of these two) and NA-60 Rawalpindi-IV (wherein the election was postponed earlier after the arrest of PML-N’s Candidate Hanif Abbasi).

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Recent News

AUD to INR: Australian Dollar to Indian Rupee Today – 29 November 2023

The Australian Dollar (AUD) was trading at 55.33 as per the Indian Rupee (INR) on Wednesday.Currently, Indians are now the second-largest migrant group in...

FM Jilani for legal pathways for migration to curb migrant smuggling

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Foreign Minister Jalil Abbas Jiliani visited Brussels from November 27-28, 2023 to participate in the International Conference on Global Alliance to...

USD to PKR: USD Dollar Rate in Pakistan Today – 29 November 2023

The US Dollar (USD) was being bought and sold at Rs 285.8 and Rs 288.6 in the Open Market against the Pakistani Rupee (PKR)...
Gold Price in Pakistan Today – 16 September 2023

Gold Price in Pakistan Today – 29 November 2023

On Wednesday (November 29, 2023), the gold rate for one tola of 24-karat in Karachi, Pakistan, is Rs 218,000.000.It's important to note that gold...
Bill Gates Revealed for Having Extra-Marital Affair with Microsoft Employee!

Bill Gates calls PM Kakar to discuss polio eradication from Pakistan

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Caretaker Prime Minister Anwaar Ul Haq Kakar received a telephone call from the Co-chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation...