Shahbaz Sharif elected as 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The President Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Shahbaz Sharif has been elected as the 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan by securing 174 votes in the National Assembly on Monday.


Shahbaz Sharif was representing the joint opposition while the Vice Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Shah Mahmood Qureshi opted to boycott the Prime Minister’s Election in the last hour.

Also Read: PTI tenders mass resignations from NA

Shah Mahmood Qureshi didn’t receive any vote in the election.

The Presiding Officer Sardar Ayaz Sadiq announced the result.

The 70-year-old Shahbaz Sharif had earlier been serving as the Leader of the Opposition in the House since August 20, 2018.

Shahbaz Sharif also served as the Chief Minister of Punjab thrice from February 20, 1997 to 12 October 12, 1999, from June 8, 2008 to March 26, 2013, and from June 8, 2013 to June 8, 2018.

Meanwhile, President Dr. Arif Alvi will not administer the Oath of Office to Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif and has gone on leave.

“President Dr. Arif Alvi has complained of discomfort. The physician has examined him thoroughly and has advised him rest for a few days,” said a statement issued by the President Secretariat.

Must read

Latest article