Senate Elections 2018: PPP expects to win 12 Senate Seats from Sindh


KARACHI, Pakistan: Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) is very confident to win all 12 Seats allocated for Sindh wherein the voting in the provincial assembly for electing 12 Senators for next six-year term continues peacefully since 9:00 am.

Extra ordinary security arrangements with deployment of hundreds of police and rangers personnel in and around the Sindh assembly building in Karachi.

On the directives of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), Close Circuit TV (CCTV) Cameras have been installed at the polling booths to ensure transparent voting.

No one but lawmakers in the Sindh assembly are being allowed to enter the assembly building to maintain the decorum of election process.

The Leaders of the House the Chief Minister of Sindh Syed Murad Ali Shah, the Speaker Sindh Assembly Agha Siraj Ahmed, the former Sindh Chief Minister Arbab Ghulam Rahim, senior parliamentarian of PPP Makhdoom Jamil-uz-Zaman, the PPP Sindh President and MPA Nisar Ahmed Khuhro have casted their votes.

The former Information Minister and PPP-MPA Sharjel Enam Memon was brought to the Sindh assembly in Armored Personnel Carrier (APC) to his right of vote.

Till 12:00 pm, more than 40 votes had been polled, out of 166 total votes. Of 168 members of Sindh assembly, two MPAs died and were not replaced with new elected members.

Meanwhile, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM Pakistan) leader Dr Farooq Sattar rejected the impression of defection by MQM MPAs. He claimed that the party would win all the four seats, the party was struggling for.

Farooq Sattar said all the party MPAs and MNAs would vote only for MQM-Pakistan Candidates for the Senate.

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Latest article