Sadiq Sanjrani retains Chairmanship of Senate

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Muhammad Sadiq Sanjrani of the ruling alliance led by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) was elected on Friday as the Chairman Senate for another three-year term.


Sadiq Sanjrani secured 48 votes, his rival the Joint Opposition’s Candidate Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani managed to receive 42 votes while 8 votes were rejected.

The Session was presided over by Senator Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah.

In the election to elect the Chairman Senate, 98 Senators including 48 newly elected Members of the Senate cast their votes in alphabetical order through secret ballot at the Parliament House in Islamabad.

The Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) Senator Mushtaq Ahmad Khan didn’t appear and abstained from the voting while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Ishaq Dar also didn’t turn up for the election as he was in London.

Later in the election held to elect the Deputy Chairman Senate, the ruling alliance Candidate Mirza Muhammad Afridi won with 54 votes while Pakistan Democratic Movement’s (PDM) Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri bagged 44 votes.

No vote was rejected in the election for the Deputy Chairman Senate Slot.

Earlier, the Presiding Officer Senator Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah directed the formation of a six-member Committee comprising three Senators each from the Treasury and Opposition Benches to hold an inquiry into the recovery of secret cameras from the House.

Must read

Latest article