Russia bans edible products from Australia, Canada, EU, US and Norway

Russia bans edible products from Australia, Canada, EU, US and Norway


MOSCOW, Russia: Russia bans edible products from Australia, Canada, the EU, the US and Norway as Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev has signed a decree on the full ban for imports of beef, pork, poultry meat, fish, cheese, milk, vegetables and fruit from Australia, Canada, the European Union countries, United States and Norway.

“Russia is introducing a full embargo on import of beef, pork, fruit and vegetable produce, poultry, fish, cheese, milk and dairy products from the European Union, United States, Australia, Canada and Norway,” he told a government meeting. The ban will go into effect immediately and last for one year.

he said Thursday at a government meeting”, said Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev here on Thursday by using  Federal Law of “On Special Economic Measures” to deal with US and EU sanctions over Russia. This step has been taken under Federal Law

Federal Law “On special economic measures” was adopted by the State Duma, the Federation Council and was approved and signed by the President of Russia in December 2006. The law aims to create a legal framework for the use of temporary special economic measures in the event of an international emergency situation requiring immediate response to an internationally wrongful act or hostile act of a foreign state that threaten the interests and security of the Russian Federation.

Medvedev also said his government was weighing restrictions on transit flights for European and American airlines flying to the Asia-Pacific region, and that Russia would ban Ukrainian airlines from its airspace.

Asad Haroon
Asad Haroon
A netpreneur, blogger and above all; A Human :) Asad tweets from @aghaasadharoon and can also be approached on Google+

Must read

Latest article