Qureshi presents South Punjab Province Bill to Speaker NA

National AssemblyQureshi presents South Punjab Province Bill to Speaker NA

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Foreign Minister and the Vice-Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Shah Mahmood Qureshi on Friday presented the Constitutional Amendment Bill for the establishment of the South Punjab Province to the Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser.

The Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Qasim Khan Suri was also present on the occasion.


In his remarks, Shah Mahmood Qureshi said that it was part of the PTI’s manifesto and as per the promise made with the people of South Punjab, he has presented the bill to establish a new province.

The PTI Vice-Chairman requested the Speaker National Assembly to include the South Punjab Province Bill in the agenda of assembly’s Monday session.

Meanwhile, the National Assembly met briefly at the Parliament House in Islamabad with the Speaker Asad Qaiser in the Chair.

At the outset, the House offered fateha for the departed souls of MNA Haji Khayal Zaman Orakzai, former President Muhammad Rafiq Tarar, Senator Rehman Malik, and others.

In his remarks, Asad Qaiser said that it’s the Parliamentary tradition to adjourn the House after Fateha on the first day of the session held after the death of a member. He said that it’s done to honor the late member of the National Assembly.

On the No Confidence Motion, the Chair said that he will act in accordance with the Constitution.

Later, the session was adjourned to meet again on Monday at 04:00 pm.

Must read

Recent News

PTI calls past two years darkest, most catastrophic in history of Pakistan

Country plunge into worst political, economic instability through regime change conspiracy: PTI Spokesperson Hints at launching a decisive movement to reclaim public...

Interbank Dollar Rate Today in Pakistan – 9 April 2024

Interbank Exchange Rates in Pakistan The Interbank Closing Exchange Rate in Pakistan has been issued by the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) for April 09,...

Pakistan Squad for T20I Series against New Zealand

LAHORE, Pakistan: Uncapped middle-order batter Muhammad Irfan Khan and flamboyant opener Usman Khan have been named in the 17-player Pakistan men’s cricket team for...

PM Shahbaz announces to expand network of Danish School System

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif has announced to expand the network of Danish School System to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan, Gilgit Baltistan and Azad...

PPP’s Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani elected as Chairman Senate

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Sardar Saidal Khan Nasar were elected as the...