PSL 2017: Islamabad United beats Peshawar Zalmi by 7 wickets in opener

Misbah-ul-Haq led Islamabad United defeated Peshawar Zalmi by 7 wickets in the opening match of the HBL Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2017 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Thursday night, registering its sixth consecutive win the PSL.


While batting first, Peshawar Zalmi scored 190 runs in stipulated 20 overs with Kamran Akmal 88-runs innings off just 48 balls with 6 sixes.

In reply, Islamabad United reached the target in 17.4 overs with 7 wickets in hands. Both Dwayne Smith and Brad Haddin scored fifties. Haddin earned the players of the match award for his 73 runs with 3 sixes.

The match was interrupted by rain; therefore, Islamabad United was tasked to score 173 runs in 18 overs to win the match.

Both the teams included four foreign players each like Australian Shane Watson and Brad Haddin; England’s Sam Billings; and West Indian Dwayne Smith were part of Islamabad United whereas West Indian Darren Sammy; England’s Eoin Morgan, Dawid Malan and Chris Jordan were in Peshawar Zalmi.

Last year Islamabad United won the first edition of HBL PSL by beating Quetta Gladiators in the Final on February 23.

The PSL 2017 will continue till March 7 when the final will be played at Qaddafi Stadium Lahore.

During the T20 tournament, 24 matches will take place at UAE’s Dubai International Cricket Stadium and Sharjah Cricket Stadium. Five teams including Peshawar Zalmi, Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars and Quetta Gladiators will play with each other twice before playoff round begins.

Prior to the opening match of PSL 2017, an impressive opening ceremony hosted by Fahad Mustafa took place at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium wherein American Singer Shaggy, Shahzad Roy and Ali Zafar among others performed.

PSL 2017 Schedule

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Latest article