PTI wins JI support for NA-122 by-election

LAHORE, Pakistan: As only a few days are left before the by-elections in Lahore’s NA-122 and PP-147 constituencies, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has won the support of its ally in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government, Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), for the polls.

PTI wins JI support for NA-122 by-election
PTI Chief Imran Khan and JI Chief Sirajul Haq

A PTI delegation led by Chaudhry Sarwar met the JI Lahore Chief Mian Maqsood in Mansoora on Monday and sought support of the Islamist party for the upcoming by-elections.

Later in a press conference, the JI leader Mian Maqsood announced his party’s support for the PTI candidates in NA-122 and PP-147 by-elections.

Sarwar thanked the JI for extending its support and expressed hope that the PTI would win the by-polls against the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

The by-elections in NA-122 and PP-147 will take place on October 11 for which both the parties are fully engaged in election campaign and trying to gain maximum support of the masses.

On Sunday, both the PTI and the PML-N held their rallies in Lahore to show their strength and to convey their messages to the public.

In his address to a large public gathering at the Dongi ground, the PTI Chief Imran Khan said that his party is fully prepared to defeat the PML-N which he described as now has become ‘Stay Order League’ in the by-elections. He also said that the PML-N plans to do rigging in the polls, but the PTI will foil any such attempt.

On the other hand, the PML-N candidate and former National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq while addressing the party workers said that the PML-N would surly win the by-polls and prove that Lahore belongs to PML-N only.

High-level meeting discuss arrangements for LB, by-polls in Punjab

Meanwhile, a high-level meeting was held in Lahore on Monday to discuss arrangements for local bodies and by-elections in Punjab.

The Chief Election Commissioner retired Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza Khan presided over the meeting.

The meeting was attended by the Secretary Election Commission, district returning officers, and Punjab Home Secretary.