PTI faces setback in NA-154 by-election; PML-N wins

LODHRAN, Pakistan: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) faced a huge embarrassment when its Candidate Ali Khan Tareen lost the NA-154 Lodhran-I by-election against Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Pir Muhammad Iqbal Shah on Monday, prompting the Chairman Imran Khan to review his political decisions prior to 2018 general elections.

The PTI’s Ali Khan Tareen took 85,933 votes; however, the PML-N’s Muhammad Iqbal Shah secured 113,542 votes, steering himself to the National Assembly as a replacement of disqualified Jahangir Khan Tareen – father of Ali Tareen.

It is worth mention here that the NA-154 seat fell vacant after the Supreme Court of Pakistan disqualified the PTI leader Jahangir Khan Tareen on December 15, 2017 under article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution.

Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) yet again seemed almost completely vanished from Punjab as its Candidate Mirza Muhammad Ali Baig just bagged over 3,000 votes.

READ  Chinese President Xi Jinping in Pakistan: China will enhance Pakistan's capability in fighting terrorism: President Xi

In NA-154 Lodhran by-election, the voters turn out remained 52.10 percent. The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had set up a total of 388 polling stations and 1,043 polling booths for by-poll.

Foolproof security arrangements including the deployment of army personnel were made in NA-154 Lodhran-I Constituency for holding free and fair by-election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.