PTI decides to separate govt, party offices in KPK


ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) has decided to separate party and government offices in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and asked its five party leaders, now in the government, to vacate their positions with immediate effect.

The Central Election Commission of the PTI announced on Tuesday that KP Chief Minister Pervez Khattak had been asked to vacate the post of party secretary general for the province after assuming the high public office.

Similarly, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser, who was holding the position of provincial president, had been asked to quit the party post.

PTI General Secretary; presidents of south region and Peshawar region who are members of the provincial cabinet, have also been asked to quit party positions.

The PTI election commission announced that it would announce the schedule of elections to the vacant positions after Ramazan.

Meanwhile, the PTI additional secretary will act as the PTI secretary-general, Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa. PTI Senior Vice President Khayal Zaman will also act as the PTI president for KPK.

Deputy Secretary-General Azmat Ali Khan will also act as the general secretary of KP.

Senior vice president of south region Muhammad Zahur Shakir will act as president of south region; senior vice president Peshawar region Mohammad Asim Khan will act as the president of Peshawar region.

Four members of PTI, namely Firdous Naqvi, Imran Ismail, Ali Zaidi and Dr Abul Hasan had demanded vacating party positions by those who had been elected to public offices.

Keeping in view the demand, the Central Election Commission of PTI held its meeting in Islamabad on Monday, discussed the issue and came up with a unanimous decision that holders of public offices should not continue holding party offices. DAWN

Asad Haroon
A netpreneur, blogger and above all; A Human 🙂 Asad tweets from @aghaasadharoon and can also be approached on Google+

Must read

Latest article

Enable Notifications for more content    OK No thanks