Prime Minister Imran Khan wins vote of confidence from National Assembly

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Prime Minister Imran Khan secured the vote of confidence from the National Assembly on Saturday with 178 votes against 172 as required under Article 91(7) of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.


The resolution moved by the Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi reposed confidence in Prime Minister Imran Khan following the Senate Elections held on March 3 in which the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Dr. Abdul Hafeez Sheikh lost to the Joint Candidate of Opposition Yousaf Raza Gillani with 164/169 votes.

In his ruling, the Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser said that Prime Minister Imran Khan has obtained the vote of confidence and commands the majority of the Lower House of the Parliament.

The Speaker announced the results amidst the thumping of desks and slogans by the members of PTI and its allied parties as well as the PTI supporters present in the lobbies.

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Latest article