Prime Minister Imran Khan approves establishment of Civil Drone Authority

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Saturday approved the establishment of the Civil Drone Authority for the purpose of putting in place an institutionalized mechanism to facilitate development and regulation of the sector.


While addressing a meeting in Islamabad, the prime minister said employing drone technology for commercial, research and development, agricultural and other peaceful purposes was the need of the hour.

The prime minister observed that the establishment of drone authority would not only fill the existing vacuum due to the non-availability of law to regulate that important sector but would also be instrumental in the promotion and domestic production of that critical technology. He said the effective use of drone technology in various sectors would help in resource optimization and better service delivery.

Imran Khan directed that the process of legislation for the establishment of authority be completed on priority and the bill be introduced in the Parliament after its approval by the Federal Cabinet.

The Civil Drone Authority will be mandated to regulate and control unmanned aircraft system in the Country, and it will decide matters relating to licensing, import, manufacturing, examination, and issuance of drone permits.

The authority will also develop standards for manufacturing, operations, training, and research and development. Besides, it will also provide technical guidance to the industrial sector to facilitate domestic manufacturing.

It will also be empowered to impose fines and penalties including cancellation of license and registration besides initiation of legal proceedings against under the prevailing civil and criminal laws.

Headed by the Secretary Aviation, the composition of authority includes senior-level representation from Pakistan Air Force (PAF), Civil Aviation, Defense Production, Interior Ministry, and Ministry of Science and Technology.

It also includes representatives each from the Federating Units including the Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) and Gilgit-Baltistan. Three eminent experts of the field will also be members of the authority.

Must read

Latest article