Peshawar wins Independence Day netball trophy after defeating Nowshera

PESHAWAR: Peshawar women team won the trophy after defeating Nowshera by 8-6 in the Independence Day Women Netball Championship final played at Qayyum Sports Complex on Thursday.

The Tournament was organized in connection with the Independence Day celebration in which teams from Peshawar‚ Nowshera‚ Abbottabad‚ Kohat and Swabi took part. MPA Khalid Waqar Chamkani was the chief guest at the opening ceremony.

Both Peshawar and Nowshera reached to the final after defeating Abbottabad and Kohat teams in their respective semi-finals on the opening day. Peshawar also registered victory against Swabi in its first match.