Pakistan names 16-member Test Squad for Sri Lanka Series


LAHORE, Pakistan: Pakistan on Saturday announced its 16-member Squad for upcoming Test Series against Sri Lanka in United Araba Emirates (UAE), in which the Opener Ahmed Shahzad could not make his place.

The first Test of two-match series between Pakistan and Sri Lanka will begin on September 28 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi while the second Test will be played at Dubai International Cricket Stadium from October 6.

The second Test will be a day/night match, the first ever between the two teams.

In a Press Conference in Lahore on Saturday, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq announced Pakistan’s Test Squad which would be led by Wicket Keeper Batsman Sarfraz Ahmed.

The squad also includes leg-spinner Yasir Shah and Azhar Ali; however, Ahmed Shahzad was left out.

Pakistan’s squad for two-match Test Series against Sri Lanka includes Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain), Sami Aslam, Azhar Ali, Shan Masood, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Yasir Shah, Hasan Ali, Haris Sohail, Muhammad Asghar, Usman Salahuddin, Muhammad Amir, Bilal Asif, Wahab Riaz, Muhammad Abbas and Mir Hamza.

Inzamam-ul-Haq said veteran batsmen Misbah-ul-Haq and Younis Khan would be missed in the upcoming series; however, he expressed hope that Sarfraz Ahmed-led side would perform well in the series.

It would be Pakistan’s first international engagement except the recent three-match T20 series against World XI as part of Independence Cup 2017 since they won ICC Champions Trophy in June 2017.

The two-match Test series will be followed by five One Day Internationals (ODIs) and three T20 Internationals between Pakistan and Sri Lanka in UAE.

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Latest article

Enable Notifications for more content    OK No thanks