No Confidence Motion tabled in NA against Prime Minister Imran Khan

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Opposition Leader in the National Assembly Shahbaz Sharif tabled the No Confidence Motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan in the National Assembly on Monday.


The Motion was tabled under Article A-95 of the Constitution, and it had 161 Members as signatories.

Later, the Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser adjourned the Session till March 31, 2022.

The Opposition requires 172 votes in favour of the No Confidence Motion to oust Imran Khan from the Prime Minister’s Office.

Meanwhile talking to media, the Minister for Interior Sheikh Rashid Ahmed said that as he has been saying for the last three months, Prime Minister Imran Khan will succeed on April 3 while the Opposition will fall short of 12 votes.

PML-Q to support Prime Minister Imran Khan: Shahbaz Gill

In a Twitter statement, the Prime Minister’s Special Assistant for Political Communication Dr. Shahbaz Gill said that the federal government has decided in principal to replace Sardar Usman Buzdar with the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) leader Chaudhry Pervez Elahi as the Chief Minister Punjab.

Shahbaz Gill said that PML-Q will support the prime minister in the motion tabled by the opposition alliance.

Sources said that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders including Asad Umar, Shafqat Mahmood, Babar Awan, Pervez Khattak among others favoured Chaudhry Pervez Elahi for the Post while Chaudhry Fawad Hussain and Aamir Kiyani opposed the decision.

BAP, Tariq Bashir Cheema back opposition

On the other hand, the PML-Q leader and the Minister for Housing and Works Tariq Bashir Cheema has resigned from the Federal Cabinet, and he has announced to vote against Imran Khan in the motion.

Separately, Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) has also announced to support opposition’s No Confidence Motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan.

Must read

Latest article