Newly elected lawmakers sworn-in in Pakistan

National AssemblyNewly elected lawmakers sworn-in in Pakistan

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The 331 newly elected members of the 15th National Assembly of Pakistan took the Oath of their Offices on Monday morning in the inaugural Session of the 342-member Lower House of the Parliament in Islamabad following the July 25 elections.

The Outgoing Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq administered the Oath to the newly elected members of the House. He also welcomed the new lawmakers, and read out the procedure for election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly to be held on Wednesday.

After the Oath taking, all members of the House signed the Member of Parliament register in alphabetical order.

The Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and who is also the Prime Minister in-waiting Imran Khan, the President Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Shahbaz Sharif, and the Chairman Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and the Co-Chairman Asif Ali Zardari among other members took the Oath of their Offices.

Earlier, the inaugural Session of the National Assembly began with the recitation of the Holy Quran followed by a Naat, indicating a change in the mind set in corridors of power as it was for the first time after 1977 that a Naat was recited in the House.

The elections for the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly will be held on Wednesday, for which nomination papers could be submitted in the Office of the Secretary National Assembly by tomorrow (Tuesday).

The PTI has nominated Asad Qaiser while the Joint Opposition comprising 11 political parties has fielded PPP’s Syed Khursheed Shah for the Slot of Speaker.

Earlier the Chairman PTI Imran Khan presided over the Party’s Parliamentary Party meeting at the Parliament House.

It is worth mentioning there that after notification on reserved seats by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), PTI’s tally has reached 158 members in the National Assembly, PML-N 82, PPP 53, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) 15, Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) seven, Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) five, Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) five and Balochistan National Party (BNP) four.

Meanwhile, the inaugural Sessions of Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan Assemblies also took place in Karachi, Peshawar and Quetta respectively. During the Sessions, the newly elected members of the provincial assemblies took the Oath of their Offices.

The first Session of the Punjab Assembly will be held at 10:00 m on Wednesday.

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Recent News

Suzuki Alto 2023 Installment Plan

Suzuki Alto 2023 Installment Plan Details – June 2023

Suzuki Alto is the cheapest car option when making a selection from the big three companies. For the past few years, automobile companies increased...

No evidence of inhumane or derogatory treatment to detained political workers found in Adiala...

RAWALPINDI, Pakistan: The National Commission for Human Rights (NCHR) recently conducted a comprehensive visit to Central Jail in Rawalpindi (Adiala) in response to reports...

PM Shahbaz Sharif invites Turkish businessmen to invest in Pakistan

ANKARA, Turkiye: Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif has invited Turkish businessmen to invest in Pakistan and establish strategic collaboration in energy, agriculture, Information technology and...

Budget 2023-24 to be business & people-friendly: Ishaq Dar

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Delegations from Pakistan Business Council (PBC) and Oversees Investors Chamber of Commerce and Industry (OICCI) held meeting with the Finance Minister Ishaq...

How to book Dubai Bus On Demand for Dh5 only?

Though the Roads and Transport Authority’s (RTA) Dubai Bus on Demand Service, a passenger is enabled to travel in a smart, efficient and affordable...