Nawaz, Shah fail to reach consensus over NAB chief’s appointment

PoliticsNawaz, Shah fail to reach consensus over NAB chief’s appointment

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and the Opposition Leader Syed Khursheed Shah held their fourth meeting in Islamabad on Wednesday, but failed to reach a consensus on the appointment of Chairman National Accountability Bureau (NAB).

Talking to media representatives following talks with the prime minister, Shah said the meeting focused on the names of Justice (retd) Mian Muhammad Ajmal and Justice (retd) Ejaz Ahmed Chaudhry as nominees for the office of NAB chairman.


Shah said that he again would meet the premier on Thursday and hoped that the name would be finalized.

The opposition leader said they would also consult on names of two new candidates including Federal Tax Ombudsman Abdul Rauf Chaudhry and former federal secretary Shoukat Durrani for the position.

Must read

Recent News

PTI calls past two years darkest, most catastrophic in history of Pakistan

Country plunge into worst political, economic instability through regime change conspiracy: PTI Spokesperson Hints at launching a decisive movement to reclaim public...

Interbank Dollar Rate Today in Pakistan – 9 April 2024

Interbank Exchange Rates in Pakistan The Interbank Closing Exchange Rate in Pakistan has been issued by the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) for April 09,...

Pakistan Squad for T20I Series against New Zealand

LAHORE, Pakistan: Uncapped middle-order batter Muhammad Irfan Khan and flamboyant opener Usman Khan have been named in the 17-player Pakistan men’s cricket team for...

PM Shahbaz announces to expand network of Danish School System

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif has announced to expand the network of Danish School System to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan, Gilgit Baltistan and Azad...

PPP’s Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani elected as Chairman Senate

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Sardar Saidal Khan Nasar were elected as the...