National Assembly elects new Prime Minister of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The National Assembly will elect a new Prime Minister of Pakistan on Monday after passage of the No-Confidence Motion against Imran Khan.


The National Assembly Secretariat has accepted the nomination papers of the President Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Shahbaz Sharif and the Vice Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Shah Mahmood Qureshi for the slot.

On April 10, the National Assembly passed the no confidence resolution with 174 votes ousting Prime Minister Imran Khan.

The result of the voting on the resolution was announced by the Presiding Officer Sardar Ayaz Sadiq who chaired the proceedings of the House after the Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser announced his resignation from the seat.

Taking the floor after the passage of no confidence resolution against Imran Khan, the PML-N President Shahbaz Sharif expressed the commitment to take forward the Country and make it a great nation whilst forgetting bitterness of the past.

Shahbaz Sharif said that we want to health the woes and wounds of the nation. We will not take revenge from anybody. He said there will be no injustice or excesses and innocent people will not be sent behind the bars. He however, said that the law will take its course.

The PML-N president said that we respect the judiciary. He vowed to run the affairs of the Country in consultations and taking along the institutions.

Shahbaz Sharif also thanked other allied parties for demonstrating unprecedented unity, solidarity and discipline. He was confident that this unity will again build Pakistan.

Must read

Latest article