Narendra Modi returns as India’s PM after BJP seals victory in Indian Lok Sabha Election 2019

NEW DELHI, India: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has bagged the required numbers of seats in the Lok Sabha, paving the way for Prime Minister Narendra Modi to hold the Office for another five-year term.

As per the unofficial results of Indian Lok Sabha Election 2019 appearing in Indian media, Narendra Modi’s BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won 346 seats out of a total of 543. Whereas its main opponent, the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) – led by the Indian National Congress (INC) – secured 79 seats.

In terms of individual performances, the BJP won 296 votes on its own whereas the Congress managed to bag 53 votes.

It’s worth noting that in India, a political party or an alliance required 272 seats in Lok Sabha to form the government in the Center.

Meanwhile, the Indian External Affairs Minister and BJP leader Sushma Swaraj has tweeted saying “Thank you very much @narendramodi for giving the Bharatiya Janata Party such a great victory. I convey my heartfelt condolences to the countrymen.”

The Indian general elections 2019 were held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19, 2019 to constitute the 17th Lok Sabha.

As many as 542,000,000 Indian citizens out of 900,000,000 used their right of franchise in Indian Lok Sabha Election 2019.

In last elections, the BJP and its alliance sealed 336 votes while Congress bagged 60 seats.