Names of suspended Cricketers be put on ECL, Nisar orders

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Federal Interior Minister Chaudhary Nisar Ali Khan on Monday approved inclusion of the names of suspended Cricketers in Exit Control List (ECL), and assured an impartial investigation into allegations leveled against them in Spot-fixing Case.

While presiding over a meeting in Islamabad on Monday, the minister also issued directive to take actions against the bookies who allegedly involved in Spot-fixing and to ban all the websites promoting such crimes.

The interior minister further said that transparent and impartial investigation should be ensured to bring cricketers involved in this crime into justice.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) suspended Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Muhammad Irfan, Shahzeb Hassan Khan and Nasir Jamshed for allegedly being involved in Spot-fixing during the second edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL).

The news surfaced soon after the PSL 2017 commenced in Dubai and as a result of Spot-fixing, the PCB provisionally suspended Islamabad United’s Sharjeel Khan and Khalid Latif. Both the Players were sent back to Pakistan from Dubai. However, Muhammad Irfan and Shahzeb Hassan were cleared during the tournament but later they were also suspended.

Following the suspension, the Cricketers were barred from playing any format of the game.

The suspended Cricketers also appeared before the Anti-Corruption unit of the PCB and recorded their statements for their alleged connections with the bookies, and were issued notices of charge.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here