Najam Sethi becomes new PCB Chairman

LAHORE, Pakistan: The Chairman Pakistan Super League (PSL) Najam Sethi has been elected as the new Chairman of Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), replacing Shahryar Khan who completed his three-year tenure earlier this month.

His election as the 30th Chairman of the PCB took place at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Lahore.

The 68-year old Najam Sethi was unanimously elected as the PCB Chairman by the 10 member Board of Governors as no other member the board filed nomination papers for the slot of the Chairman.

Members present at the Board of Governors meeting where Sethi was elected Included Najam Sethi, Ariff Ejaz, Muzamil Hussain (WAPDA), Nauman Dar (HBL), Miftah Ismail (Sui Southern Gas), Mansoor Masood Khan (UBL), Murad Ismail (Quetta), Muhammad Numan Butt (Sialkot), Nadeem Ahmed (Lahore), Amjad Ali Khan (IPC, non-voting member).

The FATA representative was not present at the meeting as elections of the FATA Cricket Association has yet to take place.

“Our first task is to make our domestic strong enough so that no one can say that the talent is not being tapped,” Najam Sethi said while talking to the press in Lahore after becoming the new PCB Chairman.

“Our second task is to bring back International cricket to Pakistan & that’s a gradual process we are working on,” the new PCB Chairman said.

Meanwhile, the former Chairman PCB Shaharyar M Khan has congratulated Najam Sethi on his unanimous election as the Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board.

“I am sure his experience and guidance will bring cricket in Pakistan to higher levels and will end Pakistan isolation in international cricket,” Shaharyar Khan said in his congratulatory message.

“I am especially glad that his election was held in a constitutional manner”, he added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here