NA-120 by-election to take place on September 17: ECP

PoliticsNA-120 by-election to take place on September 17: ECP

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday issued schedule for the upcoming by-election in NA-120, a Lahore Constituency which fell vacant after the disqualification of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on July 28.

The by-election in NA-120 will take place on September 17, according to the schedule issued by the ECP in Islamabad.


The ECP said that the interesting Candidates fill their nominations with the Returning Officers (ROs) from August 10 to 12.

The Scrutiny of nomination papers submitted by the Candidates will take place from August 15 to 17 while the last date for filing of appeals against decisions of ROs has been set for August 21.

The last date for deciding of appeals by the appellate tribunal has been set for August 24 whereas the last for withdrawal of Candidature is August 25.

The final list of Candidates will be published on August 26, and polling will be held on September 17.

The ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Candidate and incumbent Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif will contest the by-election in NA-120 wherein a victory will lead him to become Pakistan’s 19th Prime Minister till next year.

Whereas his main contender would be Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Dr Yasmeen Rashid.

Dr Yasmeen Rashid was the runner up in the 2013 general elections from the same Constituency against PML-N’s Nawaz Sharif.

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Recent News

China’s IDCPC Minister Liu Jianchao to visit Pakistan from June 20-22

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Minister of the International Department of Communist Party of China (IDCPC) and Member of the Communist Party’s Central Committee Liu Jianchao...

Fitch forecasts Pakistan’s inflation at 12% in FY25

The inflation in Pakistan will remain at around 12 percent while the interest rate will drop to 16 percent by the Fiscal Year End...
Mushahid first Pakistani at BRICS Forum in Russia: ‘Pakistan will be part of emerging global order’, criticizes ‘declining West’s double standards on Gaza Genocide’

Mushahid first Pakistani at BRICS Forum in Russia: ‘Pakistan will be part of emerging...

Monitoring Desk: Mushahid Hussain Sayed became the first Pakistani to address the official International BRICS Forum, hosted by the current Chair, Russia, at the...
Dr. Attia Anwar

Why are some people more likely to experience chronic pain?

By Dr Attia AnwarAny pain that lasts longer than three months comes under the category of chronic pain. There is usually a trigger factor...

Flouting rules play havoc with Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Economic Zones Development and Management Company

Peshawar, Pakistan: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is known for its best media management and runs the administrative issues only in social media where it always...