Murree Tragedy: 15 officials removed from posts for negligence

LAHORE, Pakistan: In the wake of the Murree tragedy which caused the deaths of nearly two dozen stranded tourists on January 8, the Punjab government has removed 15 officials from their posts for negligence and inefficiency.


While addressing a Press Conference regarding the Investigation Report of the Murree Tragedy on Wednesday, the Punjab Chief Minister Sardar Usman Buzdar said that as per the recommendations of the Committee formed to probe the tragedy, disciplinary action is being taken against 15 officials for committing negligence and carelessness.

The Chief Minister said that 15 officials including the Commissioner Rawalpindi Division, the Deputy Commissioner Rawalpindi, the Chief Traffic Officer (CTO) Rawalpindi, the Assistant Commissioner (AC) Murree, the City Police Officer (CPO) Rawalpindi, the Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) Traffic, and the Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP) Murree have been removed from their posts.

While the Divisional Forest Officer Murree, the District Emergency Officer Murree, the Incharge Murree Rescue 1122, and the Director Provincial Disaster Management Authority (PDMA) Punjab have been suspended.

Following the appalling incident in Murree, the Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar had ordered to form a five-member Committee headed by the Additional Chief Secretary Home Zafar Nasarullah to determine the causes and lapses that led to the tourists’ deaths.

Must read

Latest article