Location of Protected Areas / National Parks in Pakistan

Senate of PakistanLocation of Protected Areas / National Parks in Pakistan

The former Prime Minister Imran Khan launched the “Protected Areas Initiative‟ on June 29, 2020, to improve flora and fauna of 15 protected areas extending over an area of 7500 square kilometres. A PC-I was prepared after detailed consultation with provinces / territories to improve flora and fauna of 23 protected areas extending over 23606.373 square kilometres. An amount of Rs 3895.000 million have been allocated through the Federal PSDP to execute the project in the province / territories.

The project aims to protect the existing flora and fauna, improve governance, create protected areas fund and promote eco-tourism in the 23 protected areas.


The scheme has been conditionally approved by the Central Development Working Party (CDWP). The implementation of project activities will start after final approval by the CDWP.

Since 2018, 44 Protected Areas have been notified throughout Pakistan extending over 23592.633 square kilometres. Out of which there are, 11 National Parks, 01 Wildlife Sanctury, 02 Community Game Reserve, 05 Conservancies, 04 Sites of Special Scientific Interest (SSSIs) and 21 Community Controlled Hunting Areas.

Among them 14 are notified by Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 05 by Government of Punjab, 23 by Government of Gilgit Baltistan, 01 by Government of Azad Jammu & Kashmir and 01 by Government of Balochistan.

Location of Protected Areas / National Parks:

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Recent News

PTI calls past two years darkest, most catastrophic in history of Pakistan

Country plunge into worst political, economic instability through regime change conspiracy: PTI Spokesperson Hints at launching a decisive movement to reclaim public...

Interbank Dollar Rate Today in Pakistan – 9 April 2024

Interbank Exchange Rates in Pakistan The Interbank Closing Exchange Rate in Pakistan has been issued by the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) for April 09,...

Pakistan Squad for T20I Series against New Zealand

LAHORE, Pakistan: Uncapped middle-order batter Muhammad Irfan Khan and flamboyant opener Usman Khan have been named in the 17-player Pakistan men’s cricket team for...

PM Shahbaz announces to expand network of Danish School System

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif has announced to expand the network of Danish School System to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan, Gilgit Baltistan and Azad...

PPP’s Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani elected as Chairman Senate

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Sardar Saidal Khan Nasar were elected as the...