Kulsoom Nawaz can uphold NA membership as no deadline exists for oath: ECP


ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has dismissed the objections raised by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) over Begum Kulsoom Nawaz having not taken oath as member of National Assembly yet despite winning the NA-120 by-elections over three months ago.

The PTI Spokesman Fawad Chaudhry on November 30 had sent a letter to the ECP, asking the Election Commission to clarify the delay in Kulsoom Nawaz taking oath in the National Assembly.

In its reply to PTI’s letter, the ECP said on Thursday that Kulsoom Nawaz can be the member of National Assembly as there is no deadline in the Constitution and Law for any elected member of National assembly to take oath.

The ECP said that under article 65 of the Constitution, oath is prerequisite only if an elected lawmaker has to sit in the House or take part in the voting process.

Begum Kulsoom Nawaz won the NA-120 by-election held on September 17, 2017 with 61,745 votes, beating main rival PTI’s Dr. Yasmin Rashid among others. However, since Kulsoom Nawaz has been in London for cancer treatment since mid-August; therefore, she hasn’t taken the oath in the Lower House as yet.

Fawad Chaudhry in his letter written to the EPC had also pointed out that Kulsoom Nawaz was formally declared winner through a notification issued on September 27 but despite the fact that three sessions of National Assembly had been held afterward, she was not sworn in yet, which was actually the legal requirement.

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Latest article