Interim govt approves posting of Chief Secretaries, IGPs

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The interim government in the Centre has approved posting and transfer of Chief Secretaries and Inspectors General of Police (IGPs) of all the four provinces to ensure impartial and transparent elections.

The decision was made at a special meeting of the Cabinet chaired by the Caretaker Prime Minister Justice (retd) Nasir-ul-Mulk in Islamabad on Wednesday.

As per the decision, Akbar Hussain Durrani has been appointed as the Chief Secretary Punjab, Azam Salman Khan as the Chief Secretary Sindh, Akhtar Nazir as the Chief Secretary Balochistan, and Naveed Kamran Baloch as the Chief Secretary Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The Cabinet also gave approval to the appointment of Inspectors General of Police in all the four provinces.

Kaleem Imam has been appointed as the IGP Punjab, Amjad Javed Saleemi as the IGP Sindh, Muhammad Tahir as the IGP Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and Mohsin Hassan Butt as the IGP Balochistan.

These appointments were made after consultations with the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) and the provincial governments. 

Meanwhile, the Caretaker Prime Minister Justice (retd) Nasir-ul-Mulk met the
Caretaker Chief Ministers of four provinces including the Chief Minister Punjab Hasan Askari Rizvi, the Chief Minister Sindh Fazal-ur-Rehman, the Chief Minister Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Justice (retd) Dost Mohammad Khan and the Chief Minister Balochistan Alauddin Mari in Islamabad today.

The Interior Minister Mohammad Azam Khan was also present in the meeting.

READ  Fatemi seeks Belarus' support for Pakistan's NSG membership