Imran Khan takes oath a MNA

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan was sworn in as member of the National Assembly on Wednesday.


The speaker Ayaz Sadiq, who defeated Imran Khan in the May 11 general elections from NA-122 constituency in Lahore, administered the oath to the PTI chief.

Khan won three National Assembly seats from NA-1 Peshawar, NA-71 Mianwali and NA-56 Rawalpindi. The PTI chief vacated Mianwali and Peshawar seats and decided to keep NA 56- Rawalpindi.

After the oath-taking ceremony, Khan felicitated Nawaz Sharif on becoming the prime minister.

Later, in his first address to the Parliament members, Khan said nations could not prosper without access to a fair justice system. He added that majority of the problems in Pakistan were due to injustices prevailing in society.

The PTI chief opposed the recent development of increase in taxes, saying that it would only lead to more problems.

Opposing drone strikes‚ Khan said these are claiming lives of innocent people. He said the government and the opposition should collectively frame a policy to bring an end to the drone strikes.

Khan said the war against terrorism has claimed numerous lives as well as dented our economy. He said we cannot remain silent on this issue and serious and collective efforts are required to address the issue.

Khan said his party will extend full support to the government on national issues as these can only be resolved through consensus.

The PTI chief said God Almighty has blessed Pakistan with different resources including gold‚ copper and coal and responsibility rests with all of us to put the country on the right track.




Asad Haroon
Asad Haroon
A netpreneur, blogger and above all; A Human :) Asad tweets from @aghaasadharoon and can also be approached on Google+

Must read

Latest article