Imran Khan felicitates Indian Cricket Team over historic Test series win in Australia

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Prime Minister Imran Khan has felicitated the Indian Cricket Team led by Virat Kohli on becoming the first Asian team to win a Test Series in Australia.

On Monday, the fourth and last Test match between India and Australia at Sydney ended in draw, enabling the visitors to seal the first ever series win against the Host on Australian soil by 2-1 after 1947/48.

With the victory, India has reinforced its status as the World’s number one Test team.

It was India’s 12th Tour to Australia featuring Test Series as well, which ended in India’s favour. Apart from India, no other Asian Team has ever succeeded to win a Test Series in Australia.

India bagged the first success in Adelaide Test by 31 runs but lost to Australia at Perth by 146 runs. However, India won the Melbourne Test as well by 137 runs while heavy rain didn’t let the fourth Test at Sydney to produce any result. Therefore, the four-match Test Series ended as India’s most successful and memorable tour to Australia.

Now South Africa remains the sole prominent Test Country, wherein India has yet to secure a series triumph in longest format of the game.

READ  Terrorist attacks have infused new vigour in us: PM Nawaz