India win Under-19 Cricket World Cup title Fourth Time

Following story was posted prior to the beginning of Final of ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2018 between India and Australia at Mount Maunganui on February 3, 2018.

Which Youngsters will rule the Cricket World? It wouldn’t now take a long to reveal as India and Australia are set to wrestle in the Final of 12th ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui on Saturday.

Both the Teams have won the title three times in the past so whosoever win it this year, will certainly set their record superior.

Since 1988 Under-19 Cricket World Cup, India have so far appeared in six Finals whereas Australia in five. India sealed victories in 2000, 2008 and 2012 while Australia lifted the Cup in 1988, 2002 and 2010.

Prior to Saturday’s battle, India and Australia also met each other in the Final of Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2012 at Townsville, wherein Blue Shirts secured triumph over the then Defending Champion.

In ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2018, both India and Australia were placed in group B, and in the group stage match held at Mount Maunganui on January 14, India convincingly beat Australia by 100 runs.ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2018: PTV Sports India vs Australia Final Live Streaming

Throughout the tournament, India remained unbeaten; however, Australia suffered one defeat – and that was against India in the above mentioned game.

READ  Pakistan win first ODI against Ireland by massive 255 runs

Indian Squad for Final

Prithvi Shaw (Captain), Manjot Kalra, Shubman Gill, Harvik Desai (Wicket Keeper), Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma, Anukul Roy, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Ishan Porel, Shiva Singh

Australian Squad for Final

Jack Edwards, Max Bryant, Jason Sangha (Captain), Param Uppal, Nathan McSweeney, Jonathan Merlo, Will Sutherland, Baxter Holt (Wicket Keeper), Zak Evans, Ryan Hadley, Lloyd Pope

Pakistan Under-19 Cricket Team grabbed the Third Position in the event. The Third Place Play-Off between Pakistan and Afghanistan was abandoned without a ball being bowled due to rain but Pakistan were placed higher than Afghanistan in the Final Standings due to better run rate.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.