First phase of Punjab local body elections to be held on May 29

LAHORE, Pakistan: The first phase of local government elections in the Punjab province will be held on May 29, 2022.


It was decided in a meeting held in Islamabad on Wednesday under the chairmanship of the Chief Election Commissioner Sikandar Sultan Raja.

In Punjab, the first phase of local government elections will take place in the following districts including Dera Ghazi Khan, Rajanpur, Muzaffargarh, Layyah, Khanewal, Vehari, Bahawalpur, Sahiwal, Pakpattan, Toba Tek Sindh, Khushab, Sialkot, Gujrat, Hafizabad, Mandi Bahauddin, Jhelum, and Attock.

Meanwhile, the Punjab Minister of Local Government and Community Development Mian Mahmood Ur Rasheed along with the Chief Minister Sardar Usman Buzdar met Prime Minister Imran Khan in Lahore.

In the meeting, they discussed strategies and issues related to the upcoming local body elections in Punjab.

Prime Minister Imran Khan directed them to intensify coordination with grassroots level workers to ensure Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) success in the local body elections in the province.

Must read

Latest article