ECP rejects references against Imran Khan, Jahangir Tareen

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Thursday rejected the petitions seeking disqualification of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan and Secretary General Jahangir Khan Tareen, describing the petitions non-maintainable.

A five-member bench of the ECP headed by Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sardar Raza heard the references filed against Imran Khan and Jahangir Tareen by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

Talking to media in Islamabad following the verdict, the PTI Spokesman Naeem-ul-Haq said that ECP’s verdict is a victory of truth. He said that now we demand resignation of the Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq.

“We will start protest against Speaker National Assembly from today,” Naeem-ul-Haq said.

The Speaker National assembly had forwarded a reference to the ECP filed by PML-N lawmakers in the Lower House to disqualify Imran Khan in September last year under article 63 of the Constitution for making misstatements about his Bani Gala property.

Likewise in a separate reference, Jahangir Tareen had also been accused of concealing facts while submitting his nomination papers for general elections in 2013 and by-elections in 2015.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here